scanning some old repro slides early logging lumber images

some photos from my scanning volunteer work for the Huronia Museum

Parry Sound from 1869-1929

  • images were photographed on 35mm slide film, Kodachrome and Ektachrome,
  • slides donated to museum in 1996 for the most part,
  • I used Vuescan software to get my 12 year old Epson Perfection 2450 flatbed scanner with transparency light bar to work with Windows 7
  • images taken into Corel Paint Shop Pro x4 for further editing
  • the colour slide film left images with in many instances a dark blue hue which I eliminated by changing to grey scale, that alone made the image seem sharper and with more detail to the eye
  • did some tricks to increase dynamic range trying to get a full black to white range not just a narrow thin range of greys
  • some sharpening
  • in some cases I was able to improve the amount of visible detail
  • hard to say if the repro photography was mixed in quality or the original photo prints were the culprits
  • the earliest shot was from May 1869, some from 1896, some from 1900, 1902 and 1908

4 thoughts on “scanning some old repro slides early logging lumber images

  1. Hi. Stumbled upon your site while searching for old photos of the Isabella Lake, Seguin River,Orrville & Parry Sound Areas. Could you tell me if the general public would have access to copies of some of these old shots? And where one would go to get them? (you mentioned you worked for the museum).

  2. Howdy. I’m sorry to bother you but I ran across your blog site and noticed you’re using the exact same template as me.
    The only problem is on my website, I’m battling to get the page layout looking like yours. Would you mind contacting me at: cristinethornton@gmx.de so I can get this figured out. By the way I’ve bookmarked
    your web-site: http://gnawledgewurker.com/2012/07/11/scanning-some-old-repro-slides-early-logging-lumber-images/ and will
    certainly be visiting often. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

