manipulating nature photographs

working in a different way to manipulate landscape photos lately

I am working with two cameras these days: digital single lens reflex, Nikon D3100 with a 18-55mm lens, and a point and shoot digital camera, Sony H50 (15x zoom lens).  The software I use to manipulate images is Corel Paint Shop Pro x4.  The technique I use varies.  Mostly it is two steps, local tone mapping which tends to brighten the image a little too much for my liking and then I darken the image by using the brightness/contrast function.   Then after that I may try a few others things with the software.  My goals is to get a darker, richer, more contrasty image.  A somewhat surreal image.  Sometimes that is the goal.  I am never completely satisfied.  My personal handicap is red green colour blindness which is a problem for more subtle colour editing.

Leave a Reply

