computing, next choice

I must confess I struggle with Windows 8 on my Sony Vaio laptop.  Should have left it running Win 7.

News this week that Samsung is ceasing production of desktop PCs. 

I was considering a desktop.

Stock check: Vaio, Gateway laptop primarily used by my sister, Blackberry tablet, iPad2, and wonky screen 17 inch ACER laptop that has to be hooked up to a monitor to work seamlessly.

Computing needs: email, photo editing, word processing, a bit of video editing. I run a schedule database using Access (but that could go by the wayside), blogging, scanner to grab slides (35mm and 110) and old photo prints.

just about all of that could be managed by a tablet, for large text amounts with a keyboard added on somehow..  

I do need a way to get camera files on SD into the device….that ain’t iPad2 or Blackberry, without some kind of PC interface for a transfer, at least not the way I understand things these days.

I considered a MAC Mini but that would mean walking away from a lot of my software and then getting peripherals to agree to the change.

Tablets have such limited storage and of course they are designed for cloud storage.  Cloud storage still leaves me a little nervous.

Lots of questions and no rush for change.

Leave a Reply

