f22 macro test Nikon D3100 w TAMRON SP 90mm F2.5 flat field manual focus lens

Back in 2011, I had a small macro project to shoot and found the kit lens for the D3100 wasn’t quite the right tool. I switched to my Sony H50 and took the shots with a tripod. Final edit was basically cropping down to the center of the full image to the item of interest but really only using less than ten per cent of the frame.

More of this work is coming and I was musing about a new lens when my brain cells caught fire and I remembered my long ago purchased new Tamron SP 90mm f2.5 flat field telemacro lens with Adaptall 2 mount. I ended up buying Pentax K and Nikon AI mounts for it and had good results.

The Nikon D3100 and this lens can only be used in manual mode, so a little trial and error is necessary to get the exposure right.

The Canadian dime is the same size as an American dime.

tripod used
full frame is shown
lens to subject distance is minimum focusing distance of the lens
f22 aperture used

Leave a Reply

